Managing user accounts by groups
can make it more efficient to assign permissions, workflow tasks, and review of notebooks. In many organizations, the specific person assigned to complete a task is not known in advance, but work can be picked up by anyone on a given team.
To access the group management page, select Administration
from the user menu, then click the Groups
tab. All existing project level groups will be shown.
To create a new group, type the name of the group and click Create Group
You'll now see a new tile for your group. You'll also see a blue banner reading "You have unsaved changes" any time you edit groups. Click Save
to save them.
Add Users to Groups
Expand the group by clicking anywhere in the tile and use the Add member
dropdown to add members. You can add individual users, or other groups, to a group. Each time you add a new member, you'll see User Details
on the right.
to update groups and assignments.
Grant Permission Roles to Groups
User groups can be added to permission roles just as users can. Learn more in this topic:
When using the Professional Edition, if you want to be able to assign notebook review
to a group, that group must be granted the "Editor" role (or higher).
The "Users" Group
Note that there is always a "Users" group predefined in every project, sometimes used to represent every user with any access to the project, though this is not automatic. Users or groups must be explicitly added to this project group. For example, you might add all the groups you define to this group in order to assign "Reader" permissions and ensure a minimal level of read access to every group member.
You can also choose to delete this group (when it is empty) if you don't want to use it.
To delete a group, you must first delete the members by clicking the X
for each, then click Delete Empty Group