This topic describes how to edit and manage existing assay designs. To create new designs, see this topic: Describe Assay Data Structure

View All Assay Designs

The assays defined are all listed on the main menu under Assays. To see the list of assays as a heatmap or a grid, click the heading Assays.

By default, you will see the Grid listing the name and description of each defined assay. Select Heatmap from the View menu to see a visual representation of relative count of runs over the past 12 months for each assay. Darker blocks indicate more runs. Hover over any block for details.

Manage Assay Design

Click the name of any assay from the main menu, grid, or heatmap to open the overview page for that assay. You will see the assay description, as well as a grid of runs.

Use the (three bar) menu in the upper right to edit or delete the assay design. Administrators can also view the audit history for this assay.

In addition to the overview tab, tabs for runs and results for the assay are available in the upper left. Click Runs for the grid of runs and Results for the grid of result data.

From any page within the assay interface, you can click Import Data to import a new run.

Edit Assay Design

Click the name of any assay from the main menu or assay grid to open the overview page.

  • To edit the design select > Edit Assay Design.
  • The panels for editing properties and fields in your assay will open.
  • Use the field editor to adjust as needed. Remember that if you delete any fields, all their data will be deleted as well.
  • When finished making changes, click Save.

Note that you have the ability to edit the assay results field mapped as a sample lookup. Use caution if you change the sample lookup for this field, as it may change or remove the links in your existing assay results.

For instance, if you create an assay design that maps result data to "All Samples", import some data mapped to samples of both "Blood" and "Serum" types, and then later edit this sample lookup to map results to only "Serum" samples, the existing run results linked to "Blood" samples will show only the row and not the link.

You can work around this limitation by defining a copy of the assay design mapped to a narrower set of samples instead of changing the mapping lookup in the original assay design.

Delete Assay Design

Click the name of any assay from the main menu or assay grid to open the overview page.

  • To delete the design select > Delete Assay Design.
  • Note that when you delete a design, all runs of data associated with it will also be deleted. Deletion cannot be undone.
  • Confirm in the popup to complete the deletion.

Related Topics


previousnext
 
expand all collapse all