Saved R reports may be accessed from the source data grid or from the Data Views web part. Once saved, reports are generated by re-running their associated scripts on live data. This is a good thing because it produces updated current views, but it also requires computational resources each time the view is opened. If your script is computationally intensive, you would be wise to make sure it runs as a pipeline job such that it does not preoccupy your server when selected for viewing. See R Report Builder for details on how to set scripts up to run as background, pipeline jobs.

Edit an R Report Script

Open your saved R report by clicking the name in the data views web part or by selecting it from the (Charts and Reports) menu above the data grid on which it is based. This opens the R report builder interface on the Data tab. Select the Source tab to edit the script and manage other options. Click Save when finished.

Share an R Report

Saved R Reports can be shared with other users, either with all users of the folder, or individually with specific users.

If the report was saved with "Share this report with all users" checked, it is already available to any users with access to the view where it was created.

If the report was shared with the "Share" box unchecked, it is "private" but can still be explicitly shared with other individual users who have access to the source data. When sharing a report, you are indicating that you trust the recipient(s), and your recipients confirm that they trust you when they accept it. Sharing of R reports is audited and can be tracked in the "Study events" audit log.

  • Open an R Report, from the Data Views web part, and click the (Share Report) button.
  • Enter the Recipients email addresses, one per line.
  • The default Message Subject is "A report has been sent: <REPORT_TITLE>" but you may modify this title here if you like.
  • The default Message Body can also be customized as needed.
  • The Message Link is shown; you can click Preview Link to see what the recipient will see.
  • Click Submit to share the report.
  • On the Report and View Permissions page, you can see which groups and users have access to your otherwise "private" R report.

Recipients will receive a notification with a link to the report, so that they may view it. If the recipient has the proper permissions, they will also be able to edit and save their own copy of the report. If the author makes the source tab visible, recipients of a shared report will be able to see the source as well as the report contents. Note that if the recipient has a different set of permissions, they may see a different set of data. Modifications that the original report owner makes to the report will be reflected in the link as viewed by the recipient.

When an R report has been shared, the data browser will show access as "custom", indicating that it has been shared with specific users. Click custom to open the Report Permissions page, where you can see the list of groups and users with whom the report was shared.

Delete an R Report

You can delete a saved report by first clicking the pencil icon at the top of the Data Views web part, then click the pencil to the left of the report name. In the popup window, click Delete. You can also multi-select R reports for deletion on the Manage Views page.

Note that deleting a report eliminates its associated script from the “Shared Scripts” list in the R report interface. Make sure that you don’t delete a script that is called (sourced) by other scripts you need.

Related Topics

Discussion

previousnext
 
expand all collapse all