When you "publish" a study, you select a subset of its data, typically with the intention of allowing broader access to your research, for example, to colleagues working in a related field, or to the general public.

You can select narrowly or broadly from the data in the source study. For example, you might select just a few participants and time points to be included in the published study; or you might select the majority of the data, leaving out just a few distracting elements. Select any subsets from the following aspects of the source study:

  • Participants
  • Datasets
  • Timepoints
  • Specimens
  • Visualizations and Reports
Note that publishing a study is primarily intended for presenting your results to a new audience; if you intended to engage in continued research and/or test new hypotheses, consider creating an ancillary study.

What Happens When You Publish a Study?

Data that is selected for publication is packaged as a new study in a new folder. The security settings for the new folder can be configured independently of the original source folder, allowing you to maintain restricted access to the source study, while opening up access to the new (published) folder. By default, the new folder inherits its security settings from its parent folder.

Protected Health Information

You can provide another layer of security to the published data by randomizing participant ids, dates, and clinic names. You can also hold back specified columns of data based on the level of PHI (Protected Health Information) they represent.

For details see Publish a Study: Protected Health Information / PHI.

Publish Data in a Study

To publish a study, follow these instructions:

  • In the study folder, click the Manage tab.
  • Click Publish Study.
    • Note: If previous studies were already published from this one, you will have the option to use Previous Settings as defaults in the wizard.
Use the Publish Study wizard to select desired options, clicking Next after each panel.
  • General Setup: Enter a name and description for the published study, provide a protocol document, and select the new location. By default the published study is created as a child of the source study folder. You can select a different parent by clicking Change for the Location field.
  • Participants: Either select one or more of the existing participant groups, or use all participants.
  • Datasets: Choose the datasets to include. Choose whether and how to refresh these datasets:
    • None: Never refresh the datasets.
    • Automatic: When the source study data changes, automatically refresh this published version.
    • Manual: Don't refresh changed source study data until an administrator manually does so.
  • Timepoints: Choose the timepoints you would like to publish. You must select at least one.
  • Specimens: Choose whether to include specimens, and whether to refresh specimen data.
    • One-time snapshot: Never refresh specimen data.
    • Nightly refresh: Refresh specimen data nightly.
  • Study Objects: Choose any additional study objects you would like to publish:
    • Assay Schedule
    • Cohort Settings
    • Custom Participant Views
    • Dataset Data
    • Participant Comment Settings
    • Protocol Documents
    • Specimen Settings
    • Treatment Data
  • Lists: Choose the lists to include.
  • Grid Views: Choose the grid views to include.
  • Reports and Charts: Choose the reports and charts to include.
  • Folder Objects: Choose additional folder objects to publish:
    • Container specific module properties
    • External schema definitions
    • Files
    • Folder type and active module settings
    • Full-text search settings
    • Missing value indicators
    • Notification settings
    • Role assignments for users and groups
    • Web part properties and layout
    • Wikis and their attachments
  • Publish Options: For information about these options, see Publish a Study: Protected Health Information / PHI.
  • Click Finish to create the published study.
  • The published study is created by the data processing pipeline. When the pipeline job is complete, you can navigate to the published study by clicking Complete in the Status column, or by using the project/folder menu.

Republish a Study using Previous Settings

When you publish a study, the settings are retained and can be used later as defaults when republishing the same study. For example, an administrator might use exactly the same settings to republish a study with corrected data, or might update some settings such as to publish a 36-month snapshot of a trial in the same way as an 18-month snapshot was published.

  • Return to the original source study used above. Click the Manage tab.
  • Click Publish Study.
  • The first option in the publication wizard is to select either:
    • Republish starting with the settings used for a previously published study: Click one from the list.
    • Publish new study from scratch.
  • Click Next and continue with the wizard, noting the previous settings are provided as defaults on each panel.

The same option to use prior settings is provided for creating ancillary studies, though you cannot use settings from a previously published study to create an ancillary study or vice versa.

Study Snapshot

Information about the creation of every ancillary and published study is stored in the study.studySnapshot table. Only users with administrator permissions will see any data. You can view this table in the schema browser, or add a query web part to any tab.

  • Enter > Page Admin Mode.
  • Select Query from the Select Web Part dropdown in the lower left and click Add.
    • Give the web part a title.
    • Choose the schema "study" and click "Show the contents of a specific query or view".
    • Select the query: "StudySnapshot" and leave the remaining options at their defaults.
    • Click Submit.
  • The default grid includes a column showing all the settings used to publish the study; this column has been hidden to simplify this screencap:

If you republish a study using one of the links in the study snapshot, the previous settings will be used as defaults in the wizard. The first page of the wizard will give you additional information about the prior publication as if you had selected republish directly from the manage study page.

Related Topics

Discussion

previousnext
 
expand all collapse all