An Issue Tracker is added to a folder or tab by an administrator and appears to the user in an Issues List web part. The issue grid is like any other data grid offering options to sort, filter, customize, export, and chart issues.

A typical workflow for using an issue tracker is outlined here.

Issue Workflow

An issue has one of three possible states: it may be open, resolved, or closed.

Opening and Assigning Issues

When you open an issue, you provide the title and any other necessary information, and a unique issue ID is automatically generated. You also must assign the issue to someone from the Assigned To pulldown list, which is configured by an administrator. Other site users, i.e. stakeholders, may be added to the Notify List now or when the issue is updated later.

The person to whom the issue is assigned and all those on the notify list will receive notification any time the issue is updated.

Updating an Issue

When an issue is assigned to you, you might be able to resolve it in some manner right away. If not, you can update it with additional information, and optionally assign it to someone else if you need them to do something before you can continue.

For example, if you needed test data to resolve an issue, you could add a request to the description, reassign the issue to someone who has that data, and add yourself to the notify list if you wanted to track the issue while it was not assigned directly to you.

You can update an open or a resolved issue. Updating an issue does not change its status.

Resolving an Issue

Declaring an issue resolved will automatically reassign it back to the user who opened it who will decide whether to reopen, reassign, further update, or ultimately close the issue.

Options for resolution include: Fixed, Won't Fix, By Design, Duplicate, or Not Repro (meaning that the problem can't be reproduced by the person investigating it). An administrator may add additional resolution options as appropriate.

When you resolve an issue as a Duplicate, you provide the ID of the other issue and a comment is automatically entered in both issue descriptions.

Closing an Issue

When a resolved issue is assigned back to you, if you can verify that the resolution is satisfactory, you then close the issue. Closed issues remain in the Issues module, but they are no longer assigned to any individual.

The Issues List

The Issues List displays a list of the issues in the issue tracker and can be sorted, filtered, and customized. Some data grid features that may be particularly helpful in issue management include:

View Selected Details

To view the details pages for two or more issues, select the desired issues in the grid and click View Selected Details. This option is useful for comparing two or more related or duplicate issues on the same screen.

Specify Email Preferences

Click the Email Preferences button to specify how you prefer to receive workflow email from the issue tracker. You can elect to receive no email, or you can select one or more of the following options:

  • Send me email when an issue is opened and assigned to me.
  • Send me email when an issue that's assigned to me is modified.
  • Send me email when an issue I opened is modified.
  • Send me email when any issue is created or modified.
  • Send me email notifications when I create or modify an issue.

Issues Summary

The Issues Summary web part displays a summary of the issues by user. Click the View Open Issues link to navigate to the full list of issues. Note that a given project or folder has only one associated Issues module, so if you add more than one Issues List or Summary web part, both will display the same data.

Not Supported

Deleting Issues

LabKey Server does not support deleting issues through the user interface. Typically, simply closing an issue is sufficient to show that an issue is no longer active.

Related Topics

Discussion

previousnext
 
expand all collapse all